Daptone Records: modern classic soul

20140110_sharon-jones-dapkings-give-people-what-they-want_91-COLLAGE

It started a while back with Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings.  Here was a band making modern music sound like classic soul.  It was good, but I wondered if it was too much of a niche.  Was it a pastiche, a sign of respect for the art, a blatant rip-off ?

Now I use a streaming music service I was able to explore a bit more.  Sharon Jones is on the Daptone record label, so I checked out their other talent.

I don’t listen to a lot of soul but I am seriously loving what I’m hearing.  I don’t care any more when the music was made – I’m discovering artist after artist who have me dancing round the house.  The kids hate it.

Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings (with the James Hunter Six in tow) have got a show coming up nearby and I have a ticket.  The venue says “the queen of NYC Soul Sharon Jones will be playing an intimate and sweaty club show”.  I can’t wait…

Daptone Records

• Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings

The James Hunter Six

Charles Bradley

Saun and Starr

Leave a Reply

