Mini review: “Blood Med” by Jason Webster

blood_med_cover

I picked this up over the summer as it is set in Valencia and that was where I was headed for a short break.  It is a city and a region that I know somewhat and I would recommend to anyone.

This is the story of a policeman investigating a murder, but it is much more than that.  It is a look at – and a commentary on – modern Spain.  Economic downturn, unemployment, starved resources, corruption.  Hardly the sunnier side of the country.  But it definitely catches the mood.

The characters are solid enough although I get the impression that it would be better to start this series with an earlier book.

Not awe-inspiring but good enough to want to read more.  I’ll be back one day.

Leave a Reply

