Film mini review: Interstellar

intersellar_poster

A few points:

I’ve enjoyed several of Christopher Nolan’s previous films and was really looking forward to seeing this, especially on a big screen.

It looks good on a big screen, but it does not look amazing.  I was expecting amazing.

It starts off slowly.  It has a story to tell and is in no rush to tell it – it clocks in at just under 3 hours.  This is pitched as sci-fi blockbuster but is more space opera.  There’s nothing wrong with that but I went in having purposefully avoided seeing trailers or reading anything about the film and I did not get what I was expecting.

The sound sometimes overpowers some of the dialogue.  I thought it might be just my screening but it appears that others had the same problem.  I also felt that the soundtrack was trying too hard to manipulate your emotions.

Apart from that, I left the cinema thinking it was a good film and I enjoyed the story even if I did not totally understand it.

 

• The Guardian:  Interstellar review – if it’s spectacle you want, this delivers

• New York Times:  Off to the Stars, With Grief, Dread and Regret

• The Guardian:  Interstellar articles

• The Guardian:  Christopher Nolan releases Interstellar comic prequel

• Alternative Interstellar posters: part one / part two

Leave a Reply

