Film: Inglourious Basterds – a review in three chapters (and an intermission)

inglourious_basterds_poster

Chapter one – Trailers

First a little history…

I was just the right age when Quentin Tarantino came on the scene – I saw all the earlier films in one fleapit of another.  Dialogue and plot in True Romance was bristling, and Reservoir Dogs was vicious and hugely cool, though not perfect.  Perfection came second time around with Pulp Fiction.  I loved every second. There was a time I could quote most of the film. Then it started going downhill… Jackie Brown and the Kill Bills were only ok.  Then his furious enthusiasm started to grate and Death Proof  was a low point. Not only that, but his partner-in-crime Robert Rodriguez was starting to crank out some amazing stuff:  Planet Terror (my review of which gets quite a lot of hits from people searching for “sexy women with guns”) and Machete.

That’s why I never really bothered to catch up with Inglourious Basterds until now.

Chapter two – Main attraction

So, to the review…

I loved it.  I was a little concerned when I saw that the film was 2 1/2 hours long, but the longer scenes build tension and a real sense of unease.   I like the way it is broken up into chapters, how there are little asides, how he will put writing up on the screen to point something out without interfering with the story-telling, how he just does things that you won’t see anywhere else.  It is so good to see Tarantino doing great stuff again.  Reservoir Dogs -level great.

[Intermission]

Now for the trailer…

 

Chapter three – Credits

I finally caught up with this as I will be seeing the new Tarantino film Django Unchained soon.  It’s getting some great reviews, so hopefully QT is back to his very best… fingers crossed.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Film: Django Unchained | Spare Cycles

Leave a Reply

