Mini review: Spies of the Balkans

Spies of the Balkans

This is my first book by Alan Furst, a name that keeps popping up when I look for new spy novels to read.  I saw it in my local library and thought I’d give it a try.

I like the idea that my dalliance with the espionage genre is now branching out quite nicely.

The book is set in Greece in 1940, a time and a place that I have not come across in a novel before.

It’s an interesting story of World War 2 coming to Greece and the attempt to smuggle Jews out of Germany to safety in Turkey.  Escape is a key theme.

A short book, the writing is crisp and easy to read.  I’d read another.

It’s good, but not as good as some reviews may have you believe.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Mini review: Spies of Warsaw (BBC TV adaptation) « Spare Cycles

Leave a Reply

