Mini review: A Spy’s Life by Henry Porter

This book has been sitting on my bookshelf for years now, and I’ve finally found the time to sit down and read a (real / proper / non-electronic) fiction book.  The Kindle has felt rather lonely of late, but I must say that it has been great to relax into a story again, holding paper pages.

This is well written and does require your full attention to keep track of all the murky dealings and altered allegiances.  Sometimes I felt that the plot became a bit over the top, but later you find it is all fundamental to the story.  I did find myself drawn into the dialogue and found pages would fly by, so overall this is a recommended read.  You could do a lot worse, and I would read another by the same author –  Brandenburg stands out.

PS: features the best line I have read in a long time:

“All of them good people, bubbling with brave initiatives, yet each in varying degrees mistaking furious animation for achievement.”  (p23)

Leave a Reply

